Ubuntu v7.04 – Fiesty Fawn

Ubuntu

Late last week, I decided to upgrade two of my PCs from Ubuntu’s v6.10 (Edgy Eft) to the beta release of v7.04 aka Fiesty Fawn.  Now while I have mentioned before that I have “tech-tendencies” but not nearly as tech savvy as many of you, I found the upgrade process to be extremely easy.  Better yet, as the OS was doing its thing, I was able to continue surfing the internet and do other work.  The entire upgrade process took about 40 minutes and to my surprise – given my experiences with other operating systems – everything was working as expected.  And now with almost a week under my belt, I have not experienced any issues with this beta release.  So far, I have to say that I am very impressed.  I like having the latest and greatest release, but normally in this situation you hope for the best, but expect the worse.  And so far (knock, knock, knock) all is great!

1 Comment

Filed under Edgy Eft, Fiesty Fawn, Linux, OS, Technology, Ubuntu

One response to “Ubuntu v7.04 – Fiesty Fawn

  1. It’s released now. I was in the process of installing Mac OS X on a spare machine that’s been collecting dust lately and ran into some driver issues. I downloaded the final release of Feisty Fawn last night and booted from the CD without issue.

    Time for you to upgrade yet again to the full release!

    Another very useful CD IMG is UBCD or Ultimate Boot Compact Disk. It boots quickly and is filled with tons of useful software utilities. It even has a barebones web browser that detected my mouse and ethernet connection flawlessly. (The browser left a lot to be desired though.)

Leave a Reply

