Tater Mitts!!!

TaterMitts 

 

I was sitting here working on my blog, watching the Military channel when a commercial came on – forgot to hit fast forward on the Tivo – for Tater Mitts.  Seeing this commercial made me realize that the end is indeed near.  Anyone who pays $19.95 plus shipping and handling should be caned.

Better yet, just send me the $19.95 plus $6.95 and I will send you something much better… an autographed photo of yours truly.  It never ceases to amaze me the useless crap that is marketed via infomercials.  More surprising is the number of people who line up to buy this stuff.  Hell, who hasn’t seen one of those As Seen on TV stores in one of their local malls.  What’s one more crappy product that will take up space in a drawer?

8 Comments

Filed under Marketing, Rant, Uncategorized, useless crap

8 responses to “Tater Mitts!!!

  1. Jeff

    I got a pair and they work like a miracle. I’m like you. Most of

    the crap on TV sucks, but these make sense.

    I never use a knife or my old peeler anymore. And when you

    cook from scratch the price and quality of your meals

    are much better. Potatoes are cheep, and I love mashed, but

    I always hated peeling them. Now it’s kinda fun. My wife

    doesn’t cook because she works full time and goes to college

    too. So it’s me. I used to be a cook in the army, and when I

    first started in basic I got to peel more times than I’d like to

    say. LOL Maybe the army should buy these!
    Jeff

  2. Hi Jeff,

    I had a colleague at work – who is married to a military man – point out the same issue. Honestly, I am glad that the product actually works. With most infomercials, I am amazed with what they attempt to sell. Or more suprisingly that people buy them.

    Based on your recommendation, maybe I should go buy a pair. 🙂

    Clarence

  3. anna

    I’ve heard mixed reviews I was just wondering what people think. I have carpal tunnel syndrome and I can’t peel potatoes anymore. I would love to hear feedback.

  4. Rob

    Jeff’s review appeared on infomercialratings.com – here it is nearly verbatim:

    Love them

    4/28/2007 – Jeff of New Jersey, USA writes:

    I got a pair and they work like a miracle. I never use a knife or my old peeler anymore. And when you cook from scratch the price and quality of your meals are much better. Potatoes are cheep, and I love mashed, but I always hated peeling them. Now it’s kinda fun. My wife doesn’t cook because she works full time and goes to college too. So it’s me. I used to be a cook in the army. Jeff

    Review Quality: Real | Fake (21 voted real, 56 voted fake)

    The other reviews were far more critical – saying the gloves were smelly and hard to use.

    http://www.infomercialratings.com/product/tater_mitts_reviews

  5. CJ

    Hi Rob,

    Assuming the TM work, I can see how they benefit many, especially those who really enjoy ‘taters.’ And while I criticized the commercial, I am now very tempted to purchase a pair to see how well they work. I have heard from many people who swear by this product.

    -CJ

  6. Sami

    I’ve heard mixed reviews also…but is everyone forgetting to mention the blue residue those gloves leave on the potatoes??? I’m sure that’s ultra healthy. ha.

  7. CJ

    Delicious….blue seasoning. Yum! 🙂

  8. Tater Mitts… why didn’t I think of that?

Leave a Reply

